Friday, December 30, 2016

4 types of female circumcision (FGM)

There are mainly four types of FGM, these are:-
 Type I, also called clitoridectomy: Partial or total removal of the clitoris and/or the prepuce (aka female foreskin).
 Type II, also called excision: Partial or total removal of the clitoris and the labia minora, with or without excision of the labia majora. The amount of tissue that is removed varies widely from community to community.
 Type III, also called infibulation: Narrowing of the vaginal orifice with a covering seal. The seal is formed by cutting and re-positioning the labia minora and/or the labia majora. This can take place with or without removal of the clitoris.
 Type IV: All other harmful procedures to the female genitalia for non-medical purposes, for example: pricking, piercing, incising, scraping or cauterization.

Dr. Jórunn Vidar Valgardsdottir

Dr. Christopher Guest gives some prenatal education

Dr. Christopher Guest discusses the history of circumcision, medical myths surrounding it, and the function and anatomy of the intact penis. This video is a powerful resource tool for prenatal education.